faith

Soul Refreshing Saturday {Vol. 1}

I don’t know about you, but Saturday mornings simply refresh my soul. I still wake up at 6:30am just like during the week, but this day is filled with endless opportunity. I could clean the apartment (not!), play tennis, paint, work out, fix dinner (!) or take a road trip. There’s something about waking up early on a Saturday morning and being able to take my time and do what I please that is something divine.

I have a Saturday morning ritual of sorts. I come out to the kitchen, start the coffee, open the blinds in the living room, turn on the laptop and read blogs. This is my relaxation and my space. Daniel (my other half) used to be a late sleeper and so Saturday morning was my space for quiet and peace.

These days he has his own Saturday morning ritual. He comes to the kitchen, usually about 30 minutes after I wake up, gets his coffee, turns on his Xbox and starts playing either some tank game or some other noisy, violent game that totally disrupts MY Saturday morning.  You see where I’m going here, right?

The plus side to this, especially during the winter, is that it’s freezing in the apartment and so when Daniel comes to the living room I share the blanket with him and he keeps me warm. Utility, people. There’s always a silver lining.

Speaking of Soul Refreshing Saturday, is my intention to post every Saturday morning some quote, inspirational message, activity, or anything really that refreshes my soul. I’d love it if you joined me. I have created a link up button below for other readers/bloggers to participate. Just post some quote, message, activity or anything that has refreshed/inspired your soul lately. If you’re a wordy person, you could say how/why that particular quote/message/activity refreshed your soul 🙂 P.S. These don’t have to be religious or spiritual. This could be as simple as going on a great hike, seeing a baby’s smile, or eating some delicious cheesecake.

fallfoliage

I’ll go first.
“All that I have seen teaches me to trust the Creator for all that I have not seen.” -Ralph Waldo Emerson

Looking around at the beautiful fall leaves and the trees changing color–the vibrant reds, oranges, and yellows, some trees look like they’re on fire–this refreshes my soul. The smell of firewood on a crisp night–this refreshes my soul. The beauty of creation here below harkens my heart to something more, something beyond. This natural beauty is a reflection of the Creator Himself. But a reflection is never the same nor nearly as good as the actual thing itself.

[To add your post to the Soul Refreshing Saturday link up:
Click on the Link up button below (a new page will pop up)
Click “Add Your Link”
Follow the directions on the page
(And would you kindly post a link back to this blog page in your post?)
Finally, click “Submit Link”]

Standard

Leave a Reply

