faith, love

Not your grandma’s family planning {Interfaith marriage and NFP}

Apparently it’s NFP (Natural Family Planning) Awareness Week, so here goes 7 Quick NFP-related takes: Linking with Svellerella

1. A little backstory: My husband was raised Buddhist and I was raised Catholic so we have/had what you might call an interfaith marriage. (He would now consider himself Christian) That being said neither of our parents exposed either of us to NFP. In fact, my family was opposed to us using NFP because they said “it doesn’t work.” Well, I don’t know if this is common knowledge but today’s NFP isn’t your grandma’s NFP, if you know what I’m sayin’. Grandma may have used the “rhythm method” but millennials use the Sympto-Thermal/Creighton/Billings method. Take that, abuela!

2. Furthermore, since neither of us actually knew of anyone who used NFP in real life we were terrified that it wouldn’t work and that it would be difficult and that we’d prove everyone right who told us those things.

3. It’s amazing how our attitudes have changed from starting NFP classes to now: after over one year of marriage.  In the beginning we were terrified of becoming pregnant before we discerned we were ready to responsibly raise a child.  Now we are still postponing pregnancy, but are no longer terrified of becoming pregnant.  In fact, if we found out that we were expecting a child today we’d be thrilled. God’s grace, y’all.

Mother creates scenes around her napping baby. Adorbs.

Mother creates scenes around her napping baby. Adorbs.

4. Some non-Catholic/non-NFP-practicing readers may be thinking “Who cares about NFP?”  I care about NFP because I didn’t want to take birth control and alter my body with chemicals that weren’t necessary. I wanted a family planning method that facilitated communication between my husband and I. And let me tell you, our communication has greatly improved after being able to discuss sexuality and family planning together.

5. We are tolerant and respectful of other people and the choices they make regarding their lives and their family. We expect tolerance and respect in return. This is the method we embrace to plan our family and it works for us.

6. I’m so thankful for couples who teach NFP because my husband and I believe that NFP has been a tremendous blessing in our marriage.

7. I’m no expert on NFP, but there are some great blog posts and online resources for those curious/interested in this medieval (not.) practice. Head over to Stephanie’s post to check out some great reads about NFP. 

Standard

4 thoughts on “Not your grandma’s family planning {Interfaith marriage and NFP}

Leave a Reply

