Uncategorized

My Grandma is Cooler than your Grandma

“Our electricity just went off. If hogs win text me. If they lost  don’t let me know. I’ll read it in the paper tomorrow” – Grandma

a few group texts later.. “Yep. The hogs lost too” -Aunt

“I didnt want to know if the hogs lost” -Grandma

I don’t know about you, but I have the coolest grandma.  She’s still taller than me and makes no qualms about telling things like they are.  When I asked her why she didn’t want to know if the Hogs (Arkansas Razorbacks) lost she said “It makes me too mad when they lose and I can’t sleep.” I remember when I would spend the night at my grandparents’ house, my grandma and I would lay in bed and eat candy.  Just last weekend she invited Daniel and I over for lunch after mass.  She even made sure to have my favorite pistachio salad and blackberry cobbler for dessert.  And then there’s that one time I graduated college with my Bachelor’s and she and my mom took my to NYC to celebrate.  These are the reasons why she’s so awesome: she loves candy almost as much as I do, she touts her Swedish heritage and makes wonderful pepparkakars, she loves to shop, she wears a raincap to protect her biweekly perm on drizzly days, she plays CandyCrush and Words with Friends, she loves sports and gets so anxious watching a close game, she loves mimosas, pina coladas, and margaritas more than the average grandma, she loves Topsy’s Cinnamon popcorn, she will only take her sleeping pill after she has tried to fall asleep with no success, she danced the polka with one of our groomsmen at my wedding, she loves to travel…even if it’s just two hours away, she had five daughters and still maintains her sanity, and the list goes on and on.

So thank you, Grandma, for continuing to be awesome..for all those times you took me to the Craft Fair and bought me kettle-cooked popcorn, peanut brittle, and roasted pecans, for taking me to NYC and seeing the Lion King broadway show even though you really wanted to see something else, and for loading me up with sugar all those times I spend the night with you when I was little…and for still loading me up with sugar when you invite us over for lunch.  Just like that keychain I got you when I was 7, you really are #1 🙂

20140322-102624.jpg

20140322-102735.jpg

20140322-102828.jpg

Standard

2 thoughts on “My Grandma is Cooler than your Grandma

Leave a Reply

